Hack Design & Tribute Page

Okay, so shoot me. It’s been a while since I’ve updated and I am ashamed to say that a lot of that time has not been spent programming. I did however manage to get some work done.

 

While teaching myself how to program again, I wanted to improve my sorely lacking design skills. I ended up finding a website, Hack Design dedicated to improving programmers front-end abilities. The website is divided into twelve sections, introduction to design,screenshot_1_16_13_2_08_pm typography, user experience, user interface, graphic design principles, mobile, interaction design, front-end design, product design, advanced user interface, advanced user experience, and context and next steps. Each section has multiple subsections with various articles, and each week your supposed to complete a subsection (i.e. read all the articles in the subsection). So far, I’m a fan. Some articles I’ve read are a little advanced, and go over my head, but overall I believe that it has already improved my design ability. I’ll update more the farther I get into the program.

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 8.19.51 PM.png

Although I didn’t do a whole lot of programming in my break, I did end up finishing the first project on freecodecamp, a Tribute Page. I decided to make a tribute dedicated to The Doctor on Doctor Who. It did take me a bit to get back into the swing of things, especially considering I decided to add some javascript and I didn’t complete the javascript section on freecodecamp just yet. Overall, I think it turned out fairly well. It is slightly responsive, but I think I want to work more on how it looks on mobile, considering I hardly put any focus on media queries.

 

Feel free to check it out on codepen, and I would love any feedback you guys could give me.

Link

 

Leave a Reply

